Deciphering Suffolk County Towns

By Ron Koenigsberg

In last month’s newsletter, we detailed Nassau County’s towns, villages, and hamlets in order to provide some clarity in an area that can sometimes be a bit confusing given so many different . Now, in this article we will break down all of Long Island’s towns, villages, and hamlets in Suffolk County. Our continued hope is that you will be able to use these article(s) as a “cheat-sheet” on Long Island’s towns, villages, and hamlets.

As a brief refresher let’s revisit a few key words:

County: a municipal corporation, a subdivision of the state, created to perform state functions; a “regional government.” All countries are divided into cities, towns, and
indian reservations.

Town: a municipal corporation and encompasses all territory within state except that within cities or indian reservations. Towns can be sub-divided into villages and hamlets.

Village: a general purpose municipal corporation formed voluntarily by the residents of an area in one or more towns to provide themselves with municipal services. The pattern
of village organization is similar to those of a city. A village is divided into neighborhoods, which are informal geographic areas.

Hamlet: an unincorporated area in one or more towns that is governed at-large by the town(s) it is in. A hamlet is divided into neighborhoods, which are informal geographic areas.

Suffolk County is the Long Island’s most Eastern county situated to the east of Nassau County. It is a very large county that consists of ten towns: Town of Babylon, Town of
Brookhaven, Town of East Hampton, Town of Huntington, Town of Islip, Town of Riverhead, Town of Shelter Island, Town of Smithtown, Town of Southampton, and Town of Southold. These ten towns are further broken up into villages and hamlets.

Town of Babylon – 3 Villages, 12 Hamlets
Villages: Amityville, Babylon, Lindenhurst
Hamlets: Copiague, Deer Park, East Farmingdale, Gilgo, North Amityville, North Babylon, North Lindenhurst, Oak Beach & Capture, West Babylon, Wheatley Heights,Wyandanch, Copiague Harbor

Town of Brookhaven- 9 Villages, 44 Hamlets
Villages: Belle Terre, Bellport, Lake Grove, Old Field, Mastic Beach, Patchogue, Potquott, Port Jefferson, Shoreham
Villages partly in Town of Brookhaven: Holbrook, Holtsville, Lake Ronkonkoma, Rononkoma, Calverton, Wading River, Eastport, Lake Grove
Hamlets: Blue Point, Brookhaven, Canaan Lake, Centereach, Center Moriches, Cherry Grove, Coram, Crystal Brook, Cupsogue Beach, Davis Park, East Moriches, East Patchogue, East Setauket, East Shoreham, Farmingville, Fire Island Pines, Gordon Heights, Hagerman, Manorville, Mastic, Medford, Middle Island, Miller Place, Moriches,
Mount Sinai, North Bellport, North Patchogue, Ocean Bay Park, Point of Woods, Port Jefferson Station, Ridge, Rocky Point, Selden, Setauket, Shirley, South Haven, Sound
Beach, Stony Brook, Strongs Neck, Terryville, Upton, Water Island, West Manor, Yaphank

Town of East Hampton- 1 Village, 4 Hamlets
Villages: East Hampton
Villages partly in Town of East Hampton: Sag Harbor Hamlets: Amagansett, Montauk, Springs, Wainscott Town of Huntington- 4 Villages, 14 Hamlets Villages: Asharoken, Huntington Bay, Llyod Harbor, Northport
Villages partly in Town of Huntington: Commack, Fort Salonga
Hamlets: Centerport, Cold Spring Harbor, Dix Hills, East Northport, Eatons Neck, Elwood, Greenlawn, Halesite, Huntington, Huntington Station, Melville, South Huntington, Vernon Valley, West Hills

Town of Islip- 4 Villages, 18 Hamlets
Villages: Brightwaters, Islandia, Ocean Beach, Saltaire
Villages partly in Town of Islip: Holbrook, Holtsville, Lake Ronkonkoma, Ronkonkoma Hamlets: Bay Shore, Bayport, Baywood, Bohemia, Brentwood, Central Islip, East Islip,
Great River, Happauge, Islip, Islip Terrace, North Bay Shore, North Great River, Oakdale, Sayville, West Bay Shore, West Islip, West Sayville

Town of Riverhead- 0 Villages, 5 Hamlets
Villages: none
Villages partly in Town of Riverhead: Calverton, Wading River
Hamlets: Aquebogue, Baiting Hollow, Jamesport, Northville, Riverhead

Town of Shelter Island- 1 Village, 1 Hamlet
Villages: Dering Harbor
Villages partly in Town of Shelter Island: none
Hamlets: Shelter Island Heights

Town of Smithtown- 3 Villages, 5 Hamlets
Villages: Head of the Harbor, Nissequogue, Village of the Branch
Villages partly in Town of Smithtown: Lake Ronkonkoma, Commack, Fort Salonga, Hauppauge, Lake Grove
Hamlets: Kings Park, Nesconset, Smithtown, Saint James

Town of Southampton- 6 Villages, 16 Hamlets
Villages: North Haven, Quogue, Sagaponack, Southampton (village), Westhampton Beach, West Hampton Dunes
Villages partly in Town of Southampton: Sag Harbor, Eastport
Hamlets: Bridgehampton, East Quogue, Flanders, Hampton Bays, Northampton, North Sea, Noyack (Noyac), Quiogue, Remsenburg, Riverside, Shinnecock Hills, Southampton (Hamlet), Speonk, Tuckahoe, Water Mill, Westhampton

Town of Southampton- 1 Villages, 9 Hamlets
Villages: Greenport
Hamlets: Cutchogue, East Marion, Fishers Island, Laurel, Mattituck, Orient, New Suffolk, Peconic, Southold

The Daily Buzz

Twitter: RonKoenigsberg

View AIP Twitter Feed

Newsletter Sign-Up

Sign Up Now